

Australasian Association for Information and Communication Technology Inc. PO Box 7015 Aspendale VIC 3195 Association Number Victoria A0060504H

> http://www.aaict.org.au/ http://www.itnac.org.au/

> > 19 December 2016

The ITNAC 2016 best paper, highly commended and session best paper awards were made based on a review of the papers, the presentation of the paper and interaction with the audience during the question time.

ITNAC 2016 had 57 papers presented and an acceptance ration of less than 50 per cent. All papers were blind peerreviewed.

Best Paper Award

Integrated Network Design for Measurement and Communication Infrastructures in Smart Grids, Halil Alper Tokel, Gholamreza Alirezaei and Rudolf Mathar (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

Best Student Paper Awards

SFO: SubFlow Optimizer for MPTCP in SDN, Kalpana Joshi and Kotaro Kataoka (Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India)

Should My Toaster Be Polled? Towards an Energy-efficient Internet of Things, Chrispin Alfred Gray and Leith Campbell (University of Melbourne, Australia)

Session Best Paper

Session 1: Inference of Social Network Behavior from Internet Traffic Traces, Ronald G. Addie (University of Southern Queensland, Australia); Mostfa Albdair (Misan University, Iraq); David Fatseas (University of Southern Queensland, Australia)

Session 2: *An Enhanced Implementation of a Novel IoT Joining Protocol*, Tyler Steane and PJ Radcliffe (RMIT University, Australia)

Session 3: VPAP: VBR Pattern Aware Playback Buffering for Video Streaming, Lahiru Ariyasinghe and Zhiyi Huang (University of Otago, New Zealand); Haibo Zhang (University of Otago, New Zealand); David Eyers (University of Otago, New Zealand)

Session 4: *Retransmission Scheduling in 802.15.4e LLDN A Reinforcement Learning Approach with Relayers*, Andreas Willig, Yakir Matusovsky and Adriel Kind (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)

Session 5: SCOR: Constraint Programming-based Northbound Interface for SDN, Siamak Layeghy and Farzaneh Pakzad (The University of Queensland, Australia); Marius Portmann (University of Queensland, Australia)

Session 6: *Packet Storage Time Attack - A Novel Routing Attack in Mobile Ad hoc Networks*, Lincy Elizebeth Jim and Mark A. Gregory (RMIT University, Australia)

Session 7: *High Security Chaotic Multiple Access Scheme for VLC Systems*, Diyang Li (Sun Yat-sen University, P.R. China); Lin Zhang (Sun Yat-sen University & SYSU-CMU Shunde International Joint Research Institute, P.R. China); Junchao Qiu (Sun Yat-sen University, P.R. China)

Session 8: Securing RPL Routing Protocol from Blackhole Attacks Using a Trust-based Mechanism, David Osemeojie Airehrour and Jairo A Gutierrez (Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand); Sayan Kumar Ray (Manukau Institute of Technology, New Zealand)

Session 9: *Peering into Peering: Building Better Tools for Better Peering Decisions*, John Robert Mendoza (University of the Philippines Diliman & Advanced Science and Technology Institute, Philippines); Isabel Montes (University of the Philippines - Diliman, Philippines); Roel Ocampo (University of the Philippines, Philippines); Cedric Angelo Festin (Networks and Distributed Systems Lab, Philippines); Josuel Racca (University of the Philippines - Diliman, Philippines)

Session 10: *FastSplit: Fast and Dynamic IP Mobility Management in SDN*, Pragat Shrivastava and Kotaro Kataoka (Indian Insttute of Technology Hyderabad, India)

Session 11: Hardware acceleration of signature matching through multi-layer transition bit masking, Shiva Shankar Subramanian and PinXing Lin (Intel Technology Asia Pvt. Ltd., Singapore); Andreas Herkersdorf (Technische Universität München & Chair for Integrated Circuits, Germany); Thomas Wild (Technical University of Munich, Germany)

Session 12: *Evaluation of Mininet-Wifi Integration via ns-3*, Farzaneh Pakzad and Siamak Layeghy (The University of Queensland, Australia); Marius Portmann (University of Queensland, Australia)

Session 13: Integrated Network Design for Measurement and Communication Infrastructures in Smart Grids, Halil Alper Tokel, Gholamreza Alirezaei and Rudolf Mathar (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

Session 14: Implementation of PCC-OFDM on a Software Defined Radio platform, Gayathri Kongara and Jean Armstrong (Monash University, Australia)

Mark al Gregory

Mark A Gregory Co-General Chair

mark.gregory@rmit.edu.au